Peter Obi’s party gains one, NNPP another as senators defect from PDP, APC

Francis Ezenwa, senator representing Imo east (pictured), has defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the Labour Party (LP).

Haliru Jika, senator representing Bauchi central, has also defected to the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) from the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The notice of their defection was read by Senate President Ahmad Lawan on Wednesday.

Since the conclusion of primary elections of the various political parties, a number of politicians have jumped ship and joined other parties.

On Tuesday, three All Progressives Congress (APC) senators defected to other political parties.

Ahmad Babba Kaita, senator representing Katsina north; Lawal Yahaya Gumau, senator representing Bauchi north, and Francis Alimikhena, senator representing Edo north, all defected to other parties.

Kaita, who represents President Muhammadu Buhari’s senatorial district, defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) alongside Alimikhena.

Gumau defected to the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), a party led by Rabiu Kwankwaso, former governor of Kano state.

The defectors have cited “marginalisation” and unfair treatment by their former parties as the reason for joining new parties.

Most of them were seeking reelection, but lost their tickets in their former parties.

The number of APC senators now stands at 66.

Please Share

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply