CAF Champions League Winners Listed From 1965

Not until the 1997 season, the CAF Champions League was known as the African Cup of Champions Clubs.

The winner of the most prestigious club competition in African football used to be decided through a round-robin group stage to qualify for a double-legged knockout stage, and then a single-leg final.

In 2020 and 2021, the finals were played behind closed doors due to the COVID-19 pandemic in Africa.
Which team has won the most CAF Champions League?

Clubs in Egypt so far have the highest number of victories (16 titles), followed by Morocco with 7.

Morocco, Egypt, Tunisia and Algeria have the largest number of winning teams, with three clubs from each having won the title.

The CAF Champions League has been won by 26 clubs, 12 of which have won it more than once.

Al Ahly is the most successful club in the competition’s history, winning the tournament a record 10 times.

Wydad Casablanca are the current CAF Champions League winner after beating Al Ahly 2-0 in the 2022 final.

Here are the 26 African Players That Have Won the UEFA Champions League. Also, see the top ten Richest African Footballers.

Let’s now go back to see CAF Champions League winners of all time.
List Of CAF Champions League Winners
Winner Nationality Score Line Year
Wydad AC Morocco 2–0 2022
Al Ahly SC Egypt 3–0 2021
Al Ahly SC Egypt 2–1 2020
Espérance de Tunis Tunisia 1–1
Espérance de Tunis were declared champions after second leg was abandoned 2019
Espérance de Tunis Tunisia 4–3 on aggregate 2018
Wydad AC Morocco 2–1 on aggregate 2017
Mamelodi Sundowns South Africa 2–1 on aggregate 2016
TP Mazembe Congo DR 4–1 on aggregate 2015
ES Sétif Algeria ES Sétif won on away goals (3–3 on aggregate) 2014
Al Ahly SC Egypt 3–1 on aggregate 2013
Al Ahly SC Egypt 3–2 on aggregate 2012
Espérance de Tunis Tunisia 1–0 on aggregate 2011
TP Mazembe Congo DR 6–1 on aggregate 2010
TP Mazembe Congo DR TP Mazembe won on away goals (2–2 on aggregate) 2009
Al Ahly SC Egypt 4–2 on aggregate 2008
Étoile du Sahel Tunisia 3–1 on aggregate 2007
Al Ahly SC Egypt 2–1 on aggregate 2006
Al Ahly SC Egypt 3–0 on aggregate 2005
Enyimba Aba Nigeria 5–3 on penalties (3–3 on aggregate) 2004
Enyimba Aba Nigeria 2–1 on aggregate 2003
Zamalek Egypt 1–0 on aggregate 2002
Al Ahly SC Egypt 4–1 on aggregate 2001
Hearts of Oak Ghana 5–2 on aggregate 2000
Raja Casablanca Morocco 4–3 on penalties (0–0 on aggregate) 1999
ASEC Mimosas Ivory Coast 4–2 on aggregate 1998
Raja Casablanca Morocco 5–4 on penalties (1–1 on aggregate) 1997
Zamalek Egypt 5–4 on penalties (3–3 on aggregate) 1996
Orlando Pirates South Africa 3–2 on aggregate 1995
Espérance de Tunis Tunisia 3–1 on aggregate 1994
Zamalek Egypt 7–6 on penalties (0–0 on aggregate) 1993
Wydad AC Morocco 2–0 on aggregate 1992
Club Africain Tunisia 7–3 on aggregate 1991
JS Kabylie Algeria 5–3 on penalties (1–1 on aggregate) 1990
Raja Casablanca Morocco 4–2 on penalties (1–1 on aggregate) 1989
ES Sétif Algeria 4–1 on aggregate 1988
Al Ahly SC Egypt 2–0 on aggregate 1987
Zamalek Egypt 4–2 on penalties (2–2 on aggregate) 1986
FAR de Rabat Morocco 6–3 on aggregate 1985
Zamalek Egypt 3–0 on aggregate 1984
Asante Kotoko Ghana 1–0 on aggregate 1983
Al Ahly SC Egypt 4–1 on aggregate 1982
JE Tizi-Ouzou Cameroon 5–0 on aggregate 1981
Canon Yaoundé Cameroon 5–2 on aggregate 1980
Union Sportive Douala Cameroon 5–3 on penalties (1–1 on aggregate) 1979
Canon Yaoundé Cameroon 2–0 on aggregate 1978
Hafia FC Guinea 4–2 on aggregate 1977
MC Alger Algeria 3–1 on penalties (3–3 on aggregate) 1976
Hafia FC Guinea 3–1 on aggregate 1975
CARA Congo 6–3 on aggregate 1974
AS Vita Club Congo DR 5–4 on aggregate 1973
Hafia FC Guinea 7–4 on aggregate 1972
Canon Yaoundé Cameroon won 1–0 on the 3rd match 1971
Asante Kotoko Ghana 3–2 on aggregate 1970
Ismaily Egypt 5–3 on aggregate 1969
TP Mazembe Congo DR 6–4 on aggregate 1968
TP Mazembe Congo DR Asante Kotoko failed to appear for the 3rd match 1967
Stade Abidjan Ivory Coast 5–4 on aggregate 1966
Oryx Douala Cameroon 2–1 1965

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply