Alia Wins Benue APC Governorship Re-run

The chairman, Benue State APC governorship primary re-run election committee, Hon. Joel Omajali, has declared Revd. Fr Hyacinth Iormem Alia as the winner of the re-run primary election.

The re-run election was conducted in 12 local government areas alongside three council wards in Buruku local government following the recommendations by the Barr. Uzoamaka Onyeama’s APC appeal panel.

Announcing the result on Thursday at the APC state secretariat in Makurdi, Hon. Joel Omajali stated that a total number of 366,546 voters were registered while 292,930 were accredited.

According to him a total of 270,353 votes were validly cast and Revd Fr Alia polled 195,314 votes to come out victorious.

He gave a breakdown of votes scored by each aspirant to include; Prof. Terhemba Shija: 1,859; Dr.Terlumun Ikya : 2,746; Arc. Bernard Yisa: 338; Dr Mathias Byuan: 14152; Sam Ode: 21698; ESV Godwin Ityoachimin: 860; Barnabas Gemade: 3,831; Michael Kaase Aondoakaa: 3,517; Herman Iorwase Hembe: 720; Terwase Orbunde: 1,393; Steven Lawani: 23,925 and Ayom Mlanga: 0 vote.

The rerun was conducted in Ogbadibo, Ushongo, Konshisha, Oju, Apa, Kwande, Agatu, Ohimini, Ado, Obi, Okpokwu and Apa local government areas.

Earlier, the secretary of the committee, Emma Maji Esq, described the election as free, fair and credible.

Shortly after the declaration of results, state deputy chairman of the party, Hon. Stephen Tsav on behalf of the state chairman, Comrade Austin Agada, presided over a special congress that affirmed the outcome of the election.

Please Share

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply